Romsey Memorial Park: page 1

 

History (Photos pre 2015)

Romsey's memorial park was opened in 1921. The park contains a stone memorial to which the names of those who died in subsequent conflicts have been added. The present bandstand dates from 2001.The park also contains a Japanese World War II artillery gun, one of a pair captured by the British and brought back to Romsey by Lord Mountbatten of Burma. One was donated to the town by Lord Mountbatten, and the other was retained in the grounds of his country estate, Broadlands. The Mayor's Picnic takes place in early-mid summer in the park. There is music performed by local schools, a variety of stalls, and the popular Duck Race, in which numbered plastic ducks 'race' each other along the river Test, to be scrupulously retrieved before awarding a prize to whoever chose the winning duck.


A view of the Memorial and Romsey Abbey


The Japanese World War II artillery gun fully restored August 2010


River Test along side the park


The famous Salmon Leap area at Saddlers Mill


The picturesque bandstand area


The River Test along side the park entrance


We are ladies doing lady things


Ducks next to the River Test near play area


The Bandstand


River Test in the Causeway adjacent to the park


Bowling Green


Les Dennis makes an appearance at the Romsey Memorial Park

 


Mabel and Jim Randell who ran the kiosk for a while back in the 40's


Mrs. Anderson the kiosk lady on left. 1960's


Band stand in 1932